13.—Lieutenant-Governors of Provinces, 1867-1943, and Present Ministries as at Dec. 31, 1943—concluded

THE NORTHWEST TERRITORIES

Note.—In 1888 the District of Alberta, Assiniboia, Athabaska and Saskatchewan, then called the Northwest Territories, with their capital at Regina, were given local responsible government, and the old Northwest Council was replaced by the Northwest Legislature, which existed until Aug. 31, 1905. When the area included in these Districts was formed into the Provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan, on Sept. 1, 1905, these provinces were given systems of government similar to the other provinces of the Dominion. The resources of the remaining areas (Yukon and the Provisional Districts of Franklin, Keewatin and Mackenzie) are now administered by the Lands, Parks and Forests Branch, Department of Mines and Resources.

LIETTERNANT-COVERNORS

Name	Date of Appointment	Name	Date of Appointment	
William McDougall A. G. Archibald Francis Goodschall Johnson Alexander Morris David Laird Edgar Dewdney	Apr. 9, 1872 Dec. 2, 1872 Oct. 7, 1876	M. C. Cameron	May Oct.	1, 1888 31, 1893 30, 1898 4, 1898 30, 1904

¹ Second term.

TERRITORIAL COUNCIL

(Appointed by the Governor General in Council)

Commissioner—Charles Camsell, C.M.G., LL.D., F.R.S.C.
Deputy Commissioner—Roy Alexander Gibson.
Members of the Council—Austin Louis Cumming; Kenneth Robinson Daly; Harold Wigmore McGill,
M.C., M.D.; Stuart Taylor Wood; Hugh Llewellyn Keenleyside, M.A., Ph.D. Secretary-David Livingstone McKeand.

PART III.—REPRESENTATIVES OF CANADA IN OTHER **COUNTRIES***

Section 1.—High Commissioners Within the British Commonwealth of Nations

United Kingdom.—The present High Commissioner for Canada in the United Kingdom is the Rt. Hon. Charles Vincent Massey, who was appointed on Nov. 8, 1935. His office is in Canada House, Trafalgar Square, London, S.W.1.

Following is the list of previous High Commissioners:-

SIR ALEXANDER GALT, 1880-83

SIR CHARLES TUPPER, 1884-87, 1888-96

LORD STRATHCONA AND MOUNT ROYAL, 1896-1914

SIR GEORGE PERLEY, 1917-22 (Acting High Commissioner 1914-17)

THE HON. P. C. LARKIN, 1922-30

THE HON. G. HOWARD FERGUSON, 1930-35

Australia.—The present High Commissioner for Canada in Australia is the Hon. Thomas C. Davis, who was appointed on Nov. 4, 1942. His office is in Canberra.

Following is the list of previous High Commissioners:-

Mr. Charles J. Burchell, 1939-41

Major-General Victor Odlum, 1941-42

^{*} Revised by the Department of External Affairs, Ottawa, in February, 1944. An annual report on the organization and activities of Canadian Government representation abroad is contained in the Report of the Department of External Affairs, which may be obtained from the King's Printer, price 10 cents.